I think I should write up on the GTT and how it went really in case anyone was wondering.
I set my alarm for 07.30am, thinking of getting to bed around 10 - when I ended up chatting online to Faye. We did the skype, I found a black-and-white webcam (which has been utterly destroyed by my ex-boyfriend who unsucessfully tried to turn it into an infrared camera) and we talked on the phone at the same time. Somehow much time passed and I didn't end up in bed till (predictably) about midnight. Oh well.
It's worth a mention because it's such a horrible test. My appointment was at 08.30am, so I walked round to the hospital feeling exceptionally tired, when I got there I found outpatients completely empty and I got seen immediately.
My nurse was lovely and thoroughly overshadowed the cruelness of Crazy-Eyes from the day before. She took blood out of my hand as I requested (I love it when they do that and don't make a fuss about it. I know it's more painful than regular blood extraction but I still perfer it) then handed me an entire bottle and a cup of Lucozade.
I am not a lucozade fan. At at half eight in the morning after being unable to eat or drink since the night before it was a hell of a shock to the system. Drinking it was a struggle and I was very nearly sick about half way through. I then proceeded to feel faint, dizzy then sick again. My blood sugar was easily settled within the two hours of waiting though (I actually fell asleep in the waiting room after an energy drink!) and I had my second blood test at 09.45 before leaving.
I knew I had work at 6 that evening and since I still felt shattered I went home and slept for a few more hours.
If there's anything dodgy in the results then I'll be contacted, if not, I probably won't.
Next appointment is back with the midwives on the 4th of October (28 week appointment) fingers crossed I get some different ones this time.
No comments:
Post a Comment