Much like my 16 week appointment my 25 week went astondingly quickly. I was seen as soon as I arrived (10 mins early) and my appointment was over well before my actual appointment time.
I knew there was something significant about 25 weeks - the maternity leave forms and the HIP grant.
So after they measured me and checked babies heartbeat (I measure 24 weeks but apparently that's all good) they asked if I had any problems - the answer being yes I had severely painful trapped wind last week for about 3 days, but it's passed now.
So I asked was there something about forms I got at this appointment, and they said they'd run out of HIP grant forms but that I could get it next time. Not the news I wanted, as that money would really be quite useful now, but I tried to put on a brave face and get on with it.
Then, the main midwife (whom I've seen about 3 times and get just a little taste that she's not that keen on me. She has a lazy eye that's just lazy enough that you can't work out if she's giving you eye contact but subtle enough so that you don't immediately notice) then flippantly mentions the Mat1blahblah form but I don't need that because I don't work.
To which I retorted (feeling a little offended) - Yes. I do have a job.
I'm sorry? I can't think of ANY real reason you would make that assumption. Just because I could do with £190 doesn't mean I'm unemployed! - Hell, I know a LOT of people with jobs that could always damn well do with £190. The only other reason I can think of is that they can both painly see my date of birth on their computer and am assuming that I don't work because I'm 20. That obvious bothers me more, but both reasons still make me feel like I'd unjustly been given a label of some sort going in there today. Was it wrong of me to ask about an awesome grant to give me free money? Does that make me unemployed? No it bloody doesn't.
I'm also left wondering to myself, if I hadn't asked about the grant and the forms would they have mentioned it? My employer NEEDS that form, quite in advance. It's a darn good job I'd read up about all this before hand, I feel so ill informed.
To top off my appointment, I mentioned that I had a glucose tolerance test booked (probably for around 28 weeks) and could they check the date for me. I got this really scolding answer about how it was my responsiblity and that I should've written it down. I'm sorry? The doctor HAD my appointment card, printed me off all the blur - forgive me for making the simple assumption that the date was on that paperwork! Why would it not be? I'm not even sure if I HAD been given the date.
Surely it's better that I ask now so that I don't waste the hospitals time by missing it or am I missing something here?
Anyway, took them quite a while to find it (which I am grateful for) so I waited in the waiting room. Turns out my GTT is TOMORROW, at 8.30am, SO glad I asked. Could've sworn it was in October!
So I'll not be eating past midnight tonight or tomorrow morning, hopefully everything'll be grand and I'll get a much nicer nurse/doctor to cheer me up about my care. I haven't had any problems with anything so I'm quitely confident that I'll show up as not having gestational diabetes - but you never know, better to have the test and know what's going on
Anyway. Rant over. :P
No comments:
Post a Comment