We have been having glorious weather, and I took advantage of it and visited my parents on Saturday. We talked really openly about baby stuff, Mum's main concern is me coping on my own for the first week, to which I explained that hopefully my wonderful Faye (and/or Emma in alternative shifts) will be staying with me at the start - to keep my spirits up and to support me while I adapt to demand feeding and sleep deprivation. Dad's main worry was money (men are always so practicle!) so I talked that through with him and showed him the finace book my midwife had given me - it shows on paper that I am entitled to rather a lot and he seemed happy with that.
Mum gave me a delicious meal in the evening and then got her knitting book out and went through all the baby cardigan designs (some of which me and Alex had worn) so I get to pick the wool and buttons and she's gonna make me lovely hand-knitted clothes! This made me get a little silly and spend a considerable amount of time cooing over the tiny little booties which had a pattern for, in my opinion they were a lot cuter than the booties at work.
Unfortunately, something had given me an awful headache and I downed some paracetamol to try and banish it. I started feeling really sick and in the end most of my delicious tea resurfaced :-(, this in itself isn't unusual, it was the state of my face afterwards that alarmed me.
Have you ever had a few blood vessels burst around your eyes when you've been sick? I've had it happen once before but never like this. I looked in the mirror and my entire face had turned grey (like a dead face) absolutely covered in tiny red pinpricks and brown ones near my chin. I looked like I was one of those old women that's clearly had too much sun (and they stick a UV light to her face and look at all the speckles?)
Something like that, accept not under UV, just in natural daylight. I had a old woman's face. Much makeup was used for a few days afterwards, it's nearly cleared up now.
I am having a few dietry problems in general, the main one being that I seem to only be able to stomach junk food. Fruit and veg have lost more or less all of their appeal and I find they make me sick, I usually really enjoy fresh food but Ixxy is determined that I'm not having any of it. I can still eate wholegrain cereal, which is a plus at least.
Me and Emma Blackson have found ourselves eating a lot of MacDonalds and KFC, I'm additionally having pizza in the evenings. My weight isn't going up (amazingly) but I don't like the idea of stuffing my feutus with junk food. I have spoken to a few of the ladies on BabyandBump.com and the general feedback is that a mummy with something her stomach is better than one with nothing - a lot of the girls are having the same problem, and second timers assure me that it'll probably pass by the end of the first trimester.
Lastly, I have found myself obsessed with reusable nappies. I have purchased two, which should be here this week. One Tot Bot Rainbow Bamboozle in yellow, which is velcro fixed (I wanted poppers, but the site was sold out and ended up getting a bargain on eBay instead) and a posh, totally gorgeous Blueberry nappy in the Lemon Lime colour. I may also get the Cow one and perhaps either Blue Summer or Pink Lemonade.

So all in all it's been an exciting week :-)
